Stats & Takeaways from Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon (April 2016)

Overall Experience & How My Day Went

It was my first time participating in Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon and I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect. Well, I was not let down with all the excitement but I was a bit overwhelmed. In the morning I was off to a rough start, having not picked up a book until just after 10AM. I found myself easily distracted with social media and checking updates on blogs.

During the afternoon, I took a break from reading to go out and eat lunch with my two best friends, listened to audiobooks on the way there and back home. Later that evening we went out again for a few cocktails. My peak reading commenced between these two hang-outs. I enjoyed catching up with my friends and it gave also me a nice mental break from reading and checking the Internet for updates.

Would I participate in Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon again? Yes! Yes, I would. The next one is scheduled for October 22 and I will be coming to the next one with a plan!

For more detailed updates from & to read challenge submissions, click here.

My Stats

  • Hours participated: ~7
  • Hours slept: 7
  • Pages read*: 508
    * includes audiobook listens
  • Books finished: 2
    The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket
    The Austere Academy by Lemony Snicket
  • Books in progress: 1
    -The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter (54% Read)
  • Mini-challenges completed: 4

Things I Did Right

  • Snack preparation. I was ready with an arsenal of snacks and goodies for any craving
  • Taking a break from everything book related and getting out of the house & socializing.
  • Accepted that I wasn’t going to read for 24-hours straight. I knew I wasn’t going to be reading all day because I planned other activities on the same day. Knowing that I had other plans ahead of time actually took pressure off me because I wasn’t in the mindset of forcing myself to READ ALL THE BOOKS! I was able to be OK with reading at a slow, leisurely pace, all without any guilt.

ReadAllTheBooks

Things I Will Do Differently Next Readathon

  • Set my alarm clock.
  • Download and sync your listening devices with audiobooks before the day of the Readathon.
  • Keep devices out of sight & have planned Internet breaks. It was distracting having easy assess to my phone, tablet, and laptop. I was constantly checking social media and blogs instead of reading.

Footer-Diver1_Thanks

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

