Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon – April 2016

DEWEYsApril2016I will be participating in my first readathon tomorrow, Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon. I am going to have a great day tomorrow; two great things planned:
  1. Lunch date with my two best girlfriends!
  2. Reading, reading and more reading.
I will be posting updates and photos on my Twitter, Instagram, Goodreads and this blog. If you’re curious to know more about Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon, here’s what you need to know:
[drumroll please]
  • Your mission is to spend the next 24 hours reading -–read anything and as much as you can!
  • When you’re not reading, join in on mini-challenges scheduled throughout the day.
  • Win bookish prizes!
  • Watch the official Dewey’s Twitter, Goodreads and blog for updates, challenge instructions
  • There is still time to sign up!
  • Already have plans tomorrow, that don’t involve reading? That’s okay because there will be another Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon in October.

Now anybody that knows me knows I am a planner, so, of course, I had to prep for my reading binge.

image1[1]Trying to Plan for Mood Reading

Picking which books to read is the tough part because I am going to be driven by my mood. I picked plenty to keep me busy and a good combination of fiction, fantasy and short stories. If I’m not in the mood for a particular book or genre,  I’m going to have to be okay with putting the book to the side and picking up a new one.

Books currently in my Dewey’s stack of potential reads:

image2[1]Don’t Forget to Eat

I will be going for lunch with friends, taking a break from reading in the afternoon. But I am still prepared with various snacks throughout the day & night. I got my cheddar popcorn,  chocolate, Rockets, trail mix — heck, I better throw some healthy stuff in there like an apple, avocado, and banana.

When I Need a Break From Reading

  • Updating this blog. Check for fun bookish updates in tomorrow’s post.
  • Twitter, Instagram & Goodreads. For more frequent updates, follow me @myareads and at www.goodreads.com/mya_reads
  • Mini-challenges. I am curious what kind of book shenanigans the facilitators of Dewey’s Readathon have planned for us.
  • Audiobooks. Since I am not being a hermit and have people to see and errands to run, I will be using audiobooks during the times I am unable to read physical books.

Wish me luck and happy reading!

Footer-Diver1_ThanksForReading

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

