25 Bookish Facts About Me

This topic is getting lots of love lately on blogs and Booktube. Since I have not shared too many personal things with my readers yet, I thought that this would be a good post for you to get better acquainted with me and my bookish habits. So without further ado, here are 25 bookish facts about me:

  1. I prefer paperbacks to hardbacks, especially if the book is <400 pages. Reason being, if the book is over 400 pages I am more likely to accidently break the spine and this looks ugly and breaks my heart a little. I also buy more paperbacks because they take up less room on my bookshelves and are generally less expensive than hardcovers.
  2. My peak time for reading is 1 to 2 hours before bed. HarryPottersBooks
  3. I refused to read Harry Potter when I was younger because I wanted to wait for the hype to die down — pffffttt, like that ever happened.
  4. I started reading Harry Potter in 2014, in my twenties. I still have books 6 & 7 to finish.
  5. Favourite genre is adult fiction and has been for as long as I can remember. Even when I was a teen, I owned more adult fiction than YA.
  6. I despise movie book covers — no reason why, I just do.
  7. In grade school, my favourite day of the year was the Scholastic Book Fair day. The Book Fair even trumped the rare Snow Days & field trips to the local pool for swimming lessons.
  8. I DNF’ed Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert and have no intention of trying to pick it up again.  Still own it, don’t know why.
  9. I have only listened to 5 audiobooks, and even then I often read along with the audio recording.
  10. I have read 1 book by Patrick Ness, A Monster Calls, and that was not even his original idea (original concept for A Monster Calls is by Siobhan Dowd)DIGITAL CAMERA
  11. When I was a teen I used to work in the mall where there was a Chapters. During my breaks, I would go the bookstore and always get mistaken as an employee, but I’d never correct people. Instead, I’d pretend I worked there and help customers find their books and give recommendations.
  12. Related to #11, I applied to work at Chapters bookstore 5 times over the course of 4 years. I was never hired, didn’t even get an interview. (Maybe they didn’t hire me because I was already free labour when I pretended to work there). The-Memory-Keepers-Daughter
  13. The book that has lived the longest on my TBR shelf is The Memory Keeper’s Daugther by Kim Edwards, which I bought in 2006 or 2007.
  14. Series intimidate me for some reason. I have a hard time finishing them. I think this is mainly due to the fact that I do not want the story to end or that I am nervous that it doesn’t end the way I want.
  15. A book that made me laugh out loud: Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened by Allie Brosh
  16. A book that made me cry: My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult
  17. If I read a hardcover book I MUST take off the dust jacket. This drives me crazy when I borrow a library book though because they’re normally crazy-taped on.
  18. I always carry a book with me wherever I go, even if it’s just to another room. It is like a child and their baby blanket. I just need to know I have a book with me, just in case. This is true even when I know that I am never going to have a chance to read it (e.g. bringing it to a concert, movie theatre).
  19. Until 2 years ago I could only read 1 book at a time. Now I can read up to three, but they have to be very different story lines or genres.
  20. A popular book that I didn’t like not like: The Martian by Andy Weir
  21. I have no interest in writing a book. I have a children’s story in my head, but I will likely never come to fruition.
  22. My father used to read Shakespeare to me when I was a young lass, starting sometime when I was between the ages of 7 and 9. This made Shakespeare easier for me to grasp in high school because I already had a core understanding of the storyline. Thanks Dad!
  23. I have always been interested in reading, it was not an interest that developed at a certain age.
  24. I do judge books by their covers & will pay more for an attractive book cover.
  25. I went to 5 schools before going to university, and the librarians knew me by name at each and every one of those schools.
Leave a Reply

