2016 Reading Resolutions

SONY DSC

It’s a new year and that means a whole new year of books. I am late getting this post out because I really wanted to be certain about my reading goals. I wanted my reading resolutions to be realistic and attainable but still challenging enough that I have to step out of my comfort zone.

Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge

 View Full 2015 Results

2016GoodreadsMy Goal: 40 books (33% increase vs. year ago)

Last Year’s Quick Stats:

  • Reading Goal: 30 books
  • Reading Actual: 40 books (33% better than planned)
  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • Total Reading Equivalent to 11,692 pages

I originally thought about putting my goal up to 60 books but I stopped myself. I didn’t want to place the pressure on myself to read 5 books a month. Most months in 2015, I did not read 5 books. If I set my goal to 60, I think I would have found myself rushing through books just to say that I read them or I would read short books and neglect the greats that are 500 pages +. And I do not want that; I am reading because I enjoy it. I like to think about what I have read, reflect and retain it.



Personal Reading Goals

Last year I read what I wanted, when I wanted, using the POPSUGAR challenge as a guide (sometimes). This year I would like to challenge myself beyond Goodreads and the POPSUGAR challenges.

This year I plan to use books in my current library, whether that means revisiting old books, dusting off the Kobo, or tackling my ever-growing TBR list. This year I would like to read:

  • 3 Retellings (fantasy, fairytale, ect.)
  • 4 Rereads
    These are books that I have stored on my shelves for a while and its time for me to enjoy them again. Let’s see if I like these book picks as much as I did the last time I read them. 
  • Finish 3 series
    I have final books to series that I haven’t the heart to finish and it is about time to complete the series. So I may not necessarily be starting a series from the beginning, the goal is to finish
  • 7 Classic Novels
  • 2 books at the bottom of my TBR 
    I will read 2 books that have been on my shelves for years. I need to either read them or find them a new home because these are some I have had for WAY to long.


     

 

POPSUGAR’s 2016 Reading Challenge

See My 2015 Challenge Results     |      Get More 2016 Challenge Details

My Goal: The main reason I am adding this challenge to my to-do list is because it is one that forces me to continue to expand my reading tastes. I do not expect to do all 50 tasks on this list, but I will use it as a guideline for what I would like to aspire to read and give a try.  So let’s see how many of these I can tick-off at the end of the year.

Difficult Parts of the Challenge:

  • A book from Oprah’s Book Club – I have never really been drawn to Oprah’s Book Club selections. I own one book that is an Oprah’s Book Club pick, maybe I will reread that one.
  • A book recommended by a family member – I am the reader in my family; I’m normally the one that does the recommending. Can I read something that a family member gave me as a gift? (Is that cheating? Did I just find a loophole?)
  • A science-fiction novel – I’m normally not a fan of this genre.  Correction, I have not given this genre a fair chance and only have read a small handful —  but those I have read, I seemed to be more excited about reaching the end than the actual story (cough cough The Martian). Have any good science-fiction recommendations?
  • A book and its prequel – I have no clue what to do for this task
  • A book with a protagonist who has your occupation – This is going to take some researching. Does a business-related, non-fiction book count? The author/person being highlighted isn’t really a ‘protagonist’ if it’s a true story, is it?

Last Year’s Quick Stats: For the 2015 Challenge I completed 40/50 of challenges, where I included some books in more than one category (but a book was never put in more than two categories — I thought that that would be like lying).

2016ReadingChallenge_PopSugar

 

Wish me luck on my reading goals and I cannot wait to look at this post in January 2017 to see my progress. What are your reading goals? I would love know if you have other challenge recommendations or books that you think would be a good fit for any of my goals.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pingback: June 2016 Wrap-up

Leave a Reply

