Book Review: Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman

Fortunately, the MilkBook Title/Author: Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman
Publisher/Year: September 17th 2013 by HarperCollins (first published January 1st 2013)
Genre: Children’s, Fiction, Fantasy, Humour
Series: N/A
Format: Softcover (& gifted a hardcover copy)
Source: Owned

View on Goodreads

what's-it-about

“ “I bought the milk,” said my father. “I walked out of the corner shop, and heard a noise like this: T h u m m t h u m m. I looked up and saw a huge silver disc hovering in the air above Marshall Road.”

“Hullo,” I said to myself. That’s not something you see every day.” And then something odd happened.

Find out just how odd things get in this hilarious story of time travel and breakfast cereal.” (Goodreads)

my-rating

StarFullStarFullStarFullStarFullStarEmpty

my-thoughts

I purchased Fortunately, the Milk as a Christmas present for my 8-year-old cousin and after reading it, I had to buy myself a copy too.  

I have two young cousins (8 and 10) who are recently discovering the joy of reading. To encourage reading, I want to put great books in their hands. I remember when I was little that I wanted to read everything, but I quickly found out that hand-me-downs and garage sale books were not always the greatest reads. People generally do not want to get rid of their favourite books. With that being said, I want to contribute to putting great books in the kids’ library. 

Fortunately, the Milk is a humourous book that is written for younger audiences (I would say younger than Coraline readers). Although this is a children’s book, I still very much enjoyed it at 25. 

It is the tale of a quirky father who needs to go the local convenience  store to get milk for his children’s cereal. The trip to the store turns into an adventure that only Neil Gaiman would be able to craft. The tale includes time-traveling, a Stegosaurus, pirates, wumpires, and aliens.

A small detail that brought me joy was that Gaiman broke parent-gender roles on page 2 by breaking the stay-at-home Mom and working Dad stereotype.  I just like seeing the subtle insertion of smart, independent, working women who also so happen to be mothers too. The mom is introduced as having “gone on a conference” to “present her paper on lizards”.

This year I have developed a great appreciation for Gaiman and I want to own every book, comic and graphic novel written by this amazing author.

noteable-quotes

 “Spoons are excellent. Sort of like forks, only not as stabby.”

“If the same object from two different times touches itself, one of two things will happen. Either the Universe will cease to exist. Or three remarkable dwarfs will dance through the streets with flowerpots on their heads.”

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

