Book Review: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

AliceBook Title/Author: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, from The Complete Alice by Lewis Carroll, John Tenniel (Illustrations) 
Publisher/Year: Published September 15th 2015 by Henry Holt and Co.
Genre: Classic, Children’s, Fiction, Fantasy
Series: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
Format: Hardcover
Source: Owned

View on Goodreads

what's-it-about

“One day, a young girl named Alice is sitting on the riverbank with her sister, when she sees a curious looking white rabbit. She soon after falls into the magical world of Wonderland, where she meets a series of strange creatures.” (Goodreads)

my-rating

StarFullStarFullStarFullStarFullStarFull

my-thoughts

The joy of this book definitely holds through for me as an adult. I go into the details of the story, as I’m sure that most who are reading this review are familiar with it (via the many books or movie renditions). Alice’s journey into Wonderland is a wonderful tale for readers of all ages.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is full of humour in the forms of clever puns, jokes, and advice. I think is one of those books that you’ll discover something new each time you read it and interpret it differently as you get older.

What I appreciate most about Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is its ability to make me forget about everything happening in the real world. I just get 100% focused and immersed in the world of Wonderland.

I see some reviews complain that the story seems random, but that is the beauty of the story; it takes logic and limitations and throws them out the window. Just allow yourself be lost in the story.

noteable-quotes

“It’s no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then.”

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to.”
“I don’t much care where –”
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go.”

“If everybody minded their own business, the world would go around a great deal faster than it does.”

“I’m afraid I can’t explain myself, sir. Because I am not myself, you see?”

“Have I gone mad?”
“I’m afraid so, but let me tell you something, the best people usually are.”

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

