December Top 5 TBR

This month I have seven books on my tentative to-read list. Realistically, I do not know if I will be able to read all seven because I have been in a bit of a reading slump lately.  So instead of dedicating myself to all seven,  I will dedicate myself to five and not set myself up to be disappointed.

With the holidays just around the corner, I have a few quick reads that are to be Christmas presents but I would like to have a chance to read them before they’re wrapped.  Is that bad of me? I want to read them so that if the people I am gifting the books to want gush to me if need be.

For example, two of the books on this list are gifts to my cousins (ages 8 and 10). They are getting into reading lately and I want to continue to encourage them that reading is fun. I have selected The Bad Beginnings and Fortunately, The Milk. I think these good choices.

I have also committed myself to reading both Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass and what Alice Found There and I need to finish both before mid-December for an Alice-themed outing (which I will loop you in on sooner to the middle of the month).

*If I am feeling ambitious the other two books that I might squeeze into the month are The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror by Christopher Moore and to finish my current library read, Sandman (Volume 1) by Neil Gaiman.

 AliceAlice’s Adventures in Wonderland Through the Looking-Glass and what Alice Found There from The Complete Alice, written by Lewis Carroll & Illustrated by John Tenniel

Click to See Price & (Possibly) Buy


TheSnowChild

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

“Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. Childless, they are drifting apart–he breaking under the weight of the work of the farm, she crumbling from loneliness and despair. In a moment of levity during the season’s first snowfall, they build a child out of snow. The next morning, the snow child is gone–but they glimpse a young, blonde-haired girl running through the trees. This little girl, who calls herself Faina, seems to be a child of the woods. She hunts with a red fox at her side, skims lightly across the snow, and somehow survives alone in the Alaskan wilderness. As Jack and Mabel struggle to understand this child who could have stepped from the pages of a fairy tale, they come to love her as their own daughter. But in this beautiful, violent place things are rarely as they appear, and what they eventually learn about Faina will transform all of them.” (Goodreads)


Fortunately, the Milk

Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman

“”I bought the milk,” said my father. “I walked out of the corner shop, and heard a noise like this: T h u m m t h u m m. I looked up and saw a huge silver disc hovering in the air above Marshall Road.”

“Hullo,” I said to myself. That’s not something you see every day.” And then something odd happened.

Find out just how odd things get in this hilarious story of time travel and breakfast cereal.” (Goodreads)


BadBeginning

The Bad Beginning from A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

“I’m sorry to say that the book you are holding in your hands is extremely unpleasant. It tells an unhappy tale about three very unlucky children. Even though they are charming and clever, the Baudelaire siblings lead lives filled with misery and woe. From the very first page of this book when the children are at the beach and receive terrible news, continuing on through the entire story, disaster lurks at their heels. One might say they are magnets for misfortune.

In this short book alone, the three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.

It is my sad duty to write down these unpleasant tales, but there is nothing stopping you from putting this book down at once and reading something happy, if you prefer that sort of thing. (Goodreads)

With all due respect,
Lemony Snicket”

(Back of the Book Synopsis)

 

Leave a Reply

